The NEASC Team

The NEASC Team

NEASC is made up of three Commissions which work in close partnership to ensure quality education for all students in public, independent, and international schools, districts, and centers around the world. 

NEASC has a vibrant global network of thousands of volunteers and a central staff which supports our members, accreditation activities, and collaborations that strengthen education.

The Leadership Team

Cameron C. Staples

Cameron C. Staples


Cam develops and implements the organization's strategic direction, ensures the value and relevance of the NEASC accreditation process, and builds partnerships with education agencies, as well as domestic and foreign government leaders, to strengthen the role of accreditation as a mechanism for educational accountability and institutional improvement. [READ MORE]

George Edwards

George Edwards

Chief Accreditation Officer

George oversees and supports accreditation activities for all school types and regions. In this role, he provides resources, assists in growth and retention, and facilitates collaborative and supportive relationships among the NEASC Commissions. [READ MORE]

Kelly Christian

Kelly Christian

Director for Strategy and Membership

Kelly works across all NEASC Commissions to focus on strategic planning, manage partnerships, and develop professional learning and other projects to support member schools.  [READ MORE]

Evan Morse headshot

Evan Morse

Chief Operations Officer

Evan manages the daily operations, IT, staffing, and infrastructure of the organization.  [READ MORE]

Alyson Geary

Alyson M. Geary

Director for Accreditation and School Improvement
NEASC Commission on Public Schools

Alyson sets forth the vision and goals for the Commission each year, facilitates communication between commission members, staff, and volunteers, and works directly with member schools to guide them through the NEASC Accreditation process.  [READ MORE]

Trillium Hibbeln

Trillium Hibbeln

Director for Accreditation and School Improvement
NEASC Commission on International Education

Trillium supports hundreds of schools around the world as they seek to transform into learning communities of the future. She has led workshops and conducted in-depth school accreditation and consulting visits to over 75 schools and has written global standards and protocols to challenge and support member schools.  [READ MORE]

Edie Traina headshot

Edie Traina

Incoming Director for Accreditation and School Improvement
NEASC Commission on Independent Schools

Edie brings to NEASC a wealth of experience in independent schools and boarding programs, and an unwavering dedication and measurable impact on advancing equity and fostering inclusive practices within learning communities.   [READ MORE]

Mark Stapleton headshot

Mark Stapleton

Director of External Affairs

Mark oversees our international government relations and key partnerships, and he also coordinates NEASC consulting services.   [READ MORE]

Board of Trustees

Officers | Members-at-Large |  Public Members  |  Commission Chairs

NEASC is managed by a Board of Trustees, which oversees the affairs of the Association. The various NEASC Commissions are empowered to manage their own accreditation processes and procedures and apply their standards, once approved by the Association Board of Trustees. Additionally, the Board of Trustees is empowered, upon the recommendation of a Commission, to grant candidacy or initial accreditation and to serve as a mechanism through which institutions may appeal an adverse action regarding their affiliation.

Board Officers

Gregory B. Myers
Superintendent, Millbury Public Schools
Millbury, MA

Immediate Past Chair
Celeste Bowler
Assistant Superintendent, East Providence Public Schools
East Providence, RI

Laura G. Warner
Assistant Dean, Finance and Administration, University of New England
Biddeford, ME

Elizabeth Wagner de Huergo
General Director, American Institute of Monterrey
Monterrey, Mexico



Independent Schools

Thomas E. Hassan
President, School Year Abroad
North Andover, MA

Michael Gifford Hirschfeld
Head of School, Kent School
Kent, CT

International Education

Paul M. Fochtman
Head of School, Frankfurt International School
Oberursel/Wiesbaden, Germany

Christine L. McGrath
Director of Operations, Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents
Gloucester, MA

Public Schools

Robert N. Baldwin
Executive Director, MSAA/MIAA
Franklin, MA

Sharon Cournoyer
Superintendent, Regional District 19
Storrs, CT


Public Members


James W. Abrams
Judge, Connecticut Superior Court
Meriden, CT


Theodore N. Scontras
Saco, ME



New Hampshire


Rhode Island

Robert S. Perry
Barrington, RI


Eileen M. Illuzzi
Newport, Vermont


Commission Chairs

Public Schools
Kevin McCaskill
Principal, Brockton High School
Brockton, MA

Independent Schools
Angela Pohlen
Executive Director, Catholic Academy of Bridgeport
Bridgeport, CT

International Schools
Howard Thiery
Superintendent, Regional School District 10
Burlington, CT