NEASC-CIE resources

Pathways to Accreditation - International Education

Pathways to Accreditation - International Education

One size does not fit all

NEASC offers schools several pathways to internationally recognized accreditation and school development to help schools move toward a more learner-focused approach to education.

We understand that schools are at various places in their development, and they have needs that require a personalized approach. We believe that “one size does not fit all” when it comes to school accreditation and therefore offer several pathways to NEASC Accreditation.

NEASC ACE Learning - logo


Launched in 2016, ACE Learning gives schools the opportunity to earn NEASC Accreditation while focusing heavily on effective learning and teaching in a modern world. Schools address the Foundation Standards early in the process so that the Internal Reflection process can focus primarily on creating a highly effective learning-focused community based on Learning Impacts. NEASC’s ten ACE Learning Principles give schools a framework for deep conversations about effective learning. 

Standard Pathway

NEASC Accreditation on the Standard Pathway is for schools on a longer developmental continuum that allows a focus on building strong foundations that support a safe, sustainable, and effective learning community. A school accredited on the Standard Pathway is expected to pursue the ACE Pathway during subsequent accreditation cycles.

ib neasc clp logo

The International Baccalaureate (IB) and the New England Association of Schools and Colleges have designed the Collaborative Learning Protocol (CLP) to provide schools with a consolidated IB program evaluation and NEASC accreditation experience and reporting process. The CLP leverages the alignment in approach between the two organizations and benefits schools by reducing the burden and duplication of effort. Schools using the CLP receive ongoing support from both the IB and NEASC, host one collaborative visiting team of highly trained IB and NEASC team members, and receive one report after the Peer Evaluation Visit. To qualify, schools must either have only one section (primary, middle, or senior) and authorized to deliver the relevant IB programme for that section or is authorized to deliver two or more IB programmes (e.g., PYP and DP). Schools must also align the timing of the two agencies’ five-year cycles.

The CLP provides schools with the opportunity to engage with peers and self-evaluation leading to:

  • continued authorization to implement IB programmes
  • initial or continued NEASC Accreditation for qualifying schools on the ACE Learning Pathway
  • ongoing growth and transformation of learning
We are very pleased with our new NEASC relationship. Our recent accreditation visit reaffirmed the decision to partner with such a forward-thinking organization. This is the first time I have looked forward to an upcoming re-accreditation process, because it is so clearly aligned with our focus on learning. Our school community came away very reassured and we look forward to the next steps in our journey together.

— Richard Boerner, Superintendent, Graded - The American School of São Paulo, Brazil
Video: The IB/NEASC Collaborative Learning Protocol