Commission Members - Independent Schools

Commission Members - Independent Schools


The NEASC Commission on Independent Schools is made up of school heads, senior administrators and public members. Members are selected for three-year terms (renewable once) at the December annual meeting of delegates. In drawing up a slate, the Commission reviews nominations submitted by heads of school, and takes into consideration such factors as the balance between elementary and secondary schools, representation of all six states, and a mix of types of school – single sex and coed, boarding and day, religious and secular, large and small, urban and rural, etc. – that reflects the membership.

The NEASC Commission on Independent Schools:

  • Oversees the accreditation process, policies and procedures.
  • Recommends changes in Standards to the Board of NEASC
  • Receives reports from visiting teams and from schools throughout the decennial cycle
  • Decides on accreditation status of schools
  • Reports to the Board of NEASC concerning candidacy, initial or continued accreditation, or removal from accreditation

The Commission meets three times a year to review reports from schools and Visiting Teams. Schools are reviewed by one of two committees consisting of both elementary and secondary members. One member reviews the Self-study, financial data, and Visiting Team Report and makes a recommendation to the Commission. All Commission members have access to the Visiting Team Report and participate in discussion.

NEASC is made up of three Commissions which work in close partnership to ensure quality education for all students in public, independent, and international schools, districts, and centers around the world. Meet the full NEASC Team.



Angela Pohlen, Chair of the Commission
Executive Director, Catholic Academy of Bridgeport
Bridgeport, CT

Noor Ali
Principal, Al-Hamra Academy
Shrewsbury, MA

Cliona Beaulieu
Head of School, Enfield Montessori School
Enfield, CT

Randy Bertin (term begins June 2024)
Head of School, Cushing Academy
Ashburnham, MA

Linda Brodeur
President, Bishop Guertin High School
Nashua, NH

Brian Easler (term begins June 2024)
Head of School, Wilbraham & Monson Academy
Wilbraham, MA

Traci Griffith
Director, Racial Justice Program
American Civil Liberties Union of MA

Bridget Irish
Head of School, Cotting School
Lexington, MA

John Lin
Retired Dean of Students, Holderness School
Plymouth, NH

Arthur Lisi
Principal, Monsignor Matthew F. Clarke Regional School
Wakefield, RI

Robin Lowe
Principal, North Shore Christian School
Lynn, MA

Doris Messina
Retired Principal, St. Michael School
Pawtucket CT

Nancy Naimey
Principal, Saint James School
Biddeford, ME 

Jeffrey Philbrick
Headmaster, Jesse Remington High School
Candia, NH

Ryan Plosker
Headmaster and Founder, New England Academy
Beverly, MA 

Daniel Richard
Principal, St. Raphael Academy
Pawtucket, RI

Jennifer Roy
Head of School, Trinity Catholic Academy
Brockton, MA 

Mark Tashjian
Headmaster, Burr and Burton Academy
Manchester, VT

Carrie Wilson
Head of School, All Saints Catholic Academy
Morrisville, VT