cie hero 2

NEASC Commission on Public Schools

NEASC Commission on Public Schools


The NEASC Commission on Public Schools, one of three commissions within NEASC, accredits and supports public elementary, middle, and high schools, and career and technical schools/centers throughout the six states of New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. With a structured, ongoing cycle of self-reflection, peer review, school improvement, and monitoring, NEASC assists schools to ensure that all students experience a high quality education.

Through the efforts of elected Commission members, professional and support staff, and thousands of educators and administrators who volunteer their time to serve as professional peer reviewers each year, more than 700 diverse public schools from across New England are NEASC Accredited or Candidates for Accreditation.

Over the last ten years, the NEASC Commission on Public Schools has been diligently working on combining our three committees into one joint commission. In 2020, the committees on public elementary, middle, and high schools united. In the fall of 2023, the NEASC Committee on Technical and Career Institutions will follow suit.

Read more about the committee merger in our bulletin, "Uniting to transform public school education:
one team, one process, one vision