NEASC Commission on Independent Schools

About the Commission

The NEASC Commission on Independent Schools (NEASC-CIS), one of three commissions within NEASC, accredits and supports a wide range of private schools in the six states of New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Schools served include traditional boarding and day preparatory schools, private elementary schools, schools serving students with special needs, and religiously affiliated schools of many faiths. Through an ongoing cycle of reflection, internal assessment, and school improvement planning, NEASC-CIS assists schools to ensure that all students experience a high quality education.

Through the efforts of elected Commission members, professional and support staff, and thousands of educators and administrators who volunteer their time to serve as professional peer reviewers each year, hundreds of diverse independent schools from across New England are NEASC Accredited or Candidates for Accreditation. Each of these schools is accredited using the same protocols and materials in order to assure that the school is faithful to its mission, conducts its programs appropriately to meet its goals, and fulfills the Standards of Accreditation established by the Commission on Independent Schools.