NEASC awards hero

The 2022 NEASC Awards

NEASC Awards

The 1885 Award for Exemplary Service to Education

Kam Chohan

Executive Director

1885 award 2022 Kam Chohan


The 1885 award, named for the founding year of NEASC, recognizes a legacy of great achievement in education or public service. The award is presented to an individual that has had a significant impact on creating a better future for all learners. It is given in recognition and appreciation of the quiet contributions, the achievements both acclaimed and unknown, and the personal sacrifices made for the benefit of all. 


Jacob Ludes III Leadership Award

Fidelis Nthenge

Global Head of IB World Schools Department
International Baccalaureate Organization

Ludes award 2022 Fidelis Nthenge


The Ludes Award recognizes individuals who demonstrate leadership that furthers the mission and objectives of NEASC and promotes excellence in education. The award is presented to an individual that has been involved in a project, program, or activity that has had a significant impact on the New England Association of Schools and Colleges or one of its Commissions.

Watch Fidelis' acceptance speech for the 2022 NEASC Annual Conference


Trustees Award for Distinguished Service to NEASC

Theodore N. Scontras

Immediate Past Chair, NEASC Board of Trustees
Retired Banking Executive

Trustees award 2022 Ted Scontras


The Trustees award is given to an individual in recognition of significant commitment and impact in support of NEASC’s mission to assess, support, and promote high-quality education for all students through accreditation, professional assistance, and pursuit of best practices. The recipient has demonstrated leadership qualities and achievements that have been central to the continuous growth and improvement of the work of NEASC and its Commissions and the promotion of excellence in education. 


NEASC Service Awards 2022

To honor individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to promoting high quality education for all students through consistent and generous involvement as a volunteer with NEASC.


Charlie Cahn
Head of School
Suffield Academy
Suffield, CT

Lisa Mahar
Retired Lead Administrator
Monadnock Waldorf School
Keene, NH

Denis Mailloux
Spark Academy of Advanced Technologies
Manchester, NH

Connie Lawrence
Dean of Academics
Portsmouth Christian Academy
Dover, NH

Katherine Windsor
Head of School
Miss Porter's School
Farmington, CT


Jane Currie
Special Education Administration Consultant

Feriha Ramadan
Education Advisor
Department of Education and Knowledge
Abu Dhabi, UAE

Honayda Saade
Accreditation Coordinator and Consultant
Al Maaref Private School
Dubai, UAE
Sarah Zarzo
STEAM Program Developer
British International School Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey


Sharon Cournoyer
Chair, NEASC Commission on Public Schools
Superintendent, Regional District 19
Storrs, CT

William Lucci
Chair, NEASC Committee on Career and Technical Institutions
Assistant Director ATE, Stafford Technical Center
Rutland, VT
Paul MacMillan
Retired Superintendent
White Mountains School District, NH

Bruce Pontbriand
Member, NEASC Commission on Public Schools
Human Resource Director, TechBoston Academy
Accreditation Coordinator, Boston Public Schools
Boston, MA