Home / About NEASC / Leadership



Cameron C. Staples, an attorney and former Connecticut State Representative, has been President/Chief Executive Officer at NEASC since 2011. Mr. Staples has a breadth of educational and legislative experience

As President/CEO, Staples manages a staff of 40 employees and a volunteer base of nearly 8000 individuals. As the leader of the organization, he develops and implements the Association’s strategic direction, ensures the value and relevance of the NEASC accreditation process and builds partnerships with education agencies, as well as domestic and foreign government leaders, to strengthen the role of accreditation as a mechanism for educational accountability and institutional improvement.

As an attorney in private practice for over twenty-two years, Staples represented medical associations and physicians in successful national class-action cases challenging unfair business operations of health insurance companies. Following court settlements, he was appointed through a federal court order to serve as the national advocate for physicians and patients with complaints against several health insurers.

As a Connecticut State Representative, Staples served as House Chairman of both the Education Committee and the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committees. Staples also served as Commissioner of the Education Commission of the States, Co-Chairman of the Connecticut International Education Advisory Committee, Vice-Chairman of the New England Board of Higher Education, and member of the Budget and Review Committee of the National Conference of State Legislatures.

In 2010, Staples was appointed by the US Senate and later elected Chair of the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI), a committee that advises the Secretary of Education on higher education accreditation and other policy matters. 

Staples has extensive experience with regional accreditation having been a member of NEASC’s Commission on International Education* (CIE) from 2000 to 2010. He has participated on several international accreditation team visits, including China, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Thailand, and Germany.

*formerly called the Commission on American and International Schools Abroad (CAISA)


Board of Trustees

Upcoming meetings:
December 12-14, 2018 (Annual Meeting and Conference)


For more information on the events listed above, please contact Kathy Willis at 781-425-7706 or kwillis@neasc.org.



Paul M. Fochtman, Chair
Head of School
Frankfurt International School
Oberusel, Germany

James J. Brosnan, Immediate Past Chair
McCann Technical School
North Adams, MA

Celeste Bowler, Secretary
Assistant Superintendent
East Providence Public Schools
East Providence, RI

Gregory B. Myers, Treasurer
Millbury Public Schools
Millbury, MA

Commission Chairs

Independent Schools - CIS
John King

Retired Headmaster (Hebron Academy)
Brunswick, ME

International Education - CIE
Christine L. McGrath

Director of Operations
Massachusetts Assn. of School Superintendents
Gloucester, MA

Public Schools - CPS
Nikitoula Menounos

Assistant Superintendent, Connecticut Technical Education and Career System
Hartford, CT


Independent Schools - CIS
Thomas Lovett

St. Johnsbury Academy
St. Johnsbury, VT

International Education - CIE
Elizabeth W. Huergo

General Director
American Institute of Monterrey
Monterrey, Mexico

Public Schools - CPS
Robert N. Baldwin

Fairhaven Public Schools
Fairhaven, MA

Public Schools - CPS
Sharon Cournoyer

Assistant Superintendent
Windsor Locks Public Schools
Windsor Locks, CT

Public Members

James W. Abrams
Judge, Connecticut Superior Court
Meriden, CT

Theodore N. Scontras
Saco, ME

Paul Daigle
North Falmouth, MA

Emma Wood Rous

Durham, NH 

Kristen Adamo

Vice President, Marketing & Communications
Providence Warwick Convention & Visitors Bureau
Providence, RI

Holly Morehouse

Executive Director
Vermont Afterschool, Inc.
Colchester, VT